Federal Law

The Office of Human Rights (OHR) enforces several laws that protect individuals from unlawful discrimination.

Civil Rights Act of 1964

A Federal Law that prohibits employers from discriminating against their employees based on sex, race, national origin, color, and religion. This law applies to employers with 15 or more employees and includes federal, state, and local governments.


President Lyndon B. Johnson signs the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

Titles I and V of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)

A Federal Law which became effective for employers with 25 or more employees on July 26, 1992, prohibits employment discrimination against qualified individuals with disabilities.


The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967

A Federal Law that protects certain applicants and employees 40 years of age and older from discrimination on the basis of age in hiring, promotion, discharge, compensation, or terms, conditions or privileges of employment.


The Equal Pay Act of 1963

A Federal Law which aims to abolish inconsistent wages based on sex of persons who hold similarly demanding jobs.


President John F. Kennedy signs The Equal Pay Act of 1963.

The Pregnancy Discrimination Act of 1978

A United States Federal Statute  Act covers discrimination “on the basis of pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions.” which amended Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.